The best modern Scandinavian designers

2 June 2014 | Workshop

In this review, you will find only those designers who have gained prominence in the last few years.

Some of them are very well known, some – not so much. At the end of the review – some talented students. Designers in Scandinavia are many; our sample is subjective, and its validity can be easily challenged. This is a necessary evil: mentioning all decent people, we would increase the review several times.

Prezde than go to the list, I will say a few introductory words. Scandinavian school of design, as is well known, took place in the middle of the XX century. Since then much water has flowed under the bridge, but Scandinavian design preserved and preserved it as a school, with a particular attitude to work, machinery, materials. Moreover, he is now going through a kind of flourishing, as it comes in the silver age.

To a large extent this is due to new factories – Muuto, Normann Copenhagen, HAY. Firstly, these plants often designed young designers, former students. Second, these firms organize competitions (announced, by the way, and on our website), which for many are the first step towards recognition.

Remarkable young designers themselves. These guys are in the third year do your website. If Russian designer from the third year he made his site that he hung there? Of course, cool visualization of innovative helicopter with logo solid state corporation on the board! Scandinavians hang photos of prototypes. Sometimes – photos of themselves as they rolled up their sleeves, bent plywood and polished stone. Scandinavian design – it is now, as seventy years ago, about the craft.

KiBiSi – one of the best design companies in Denmark. Its founders – designer Lars Larsen, architect Bjarke Ingels (the most famous among young Danish architects) and Jens Martin Skibsted, design theorist and founder of the company Biomega, which produces “designer” bikes.

Lars Larsen, Bjarke Ingels and Jens Martin Skibsted

Lars Larsen, Bjarke Ingels and Jens Martin Skibsted

One of the buildings, Bjarke Ingels in Erestade, new district of Copenhagen

One of the buildings, Bjarke Ingels in Erestade, new district of Copenhagen

KiBiSi design and furniture (in particular, is very famous for their metal chairs 2008 for HAY), and more complex things: bicycles Biomega and Puma, Headphones Aiaiai.

Bike Biomega Amsterdam, 2005

Bike Biomega Amsterdam, 2005

GamFratesi Stine Gam – an architect, and at first she worked as an architect. In particular, she was lucky enough to work in Japan in the studio of the legendary Fumihiko Maki. Enrico Fratezi – also an architect, an Italian, but worked in Aarhus, good local architectural studio Arkitema. Since 2006, they work together as furniture designers.

Stine Gam and Enrico Fratezi. Photographer Klaus Randrup (Claus Randrup)

Stine Gam and Enrico Fratezi. Photographer Klaus Randrup (Claus Randrup)

Their office is located in Copenhagen, but they are constantly moving between Denmark and Italy. Some spectacular things that they have designed for Sasamania and Ligne Roset, were released in 2012.

Tables Meduse. Casamania, 2009

Tables Meduse. Casamania, 2009

Form Us With Love – big Stockholm studio, founded in 2005.

Designers Form Us With Love

Designers Form Us With Love

They work for the Swedish factories Mitab, ateljé Lyktan (for them, in particular, in 2012, they made a sensational desk lamp-portability), for Cappellini made ​​metal floor lamp.

Plug Lamp. Ateljé Lyktan, 2012

Plug Lamp. Ateljé Lyktan, 2012

Muuto they designed for the emerging rubber bulb.

Lamp Unfold. Muuto, 2010

Lamp Unfold. Muuto, 2010

Form Us With Love pleasantly surprised by the attention to production technology. They put in their portfolio photos, which can be seen both in the subjects that they have designed, drilled holes, bent plywood and so on.

Habersdash, Stockholm store for the modern dandy. Authors Interior Form Us With Love, 2012

Habersdash, Stockholm store for the modern dandy. Authors Interior Form Us With Love, 2012

Лучшие современные скандинавские дизайнеры

2 июня 2014 | Мастерская

В этом обзоре вы найдете только тех дизайнеров, которые приобрели известность в последние несколько лет.

Некоторые из них очень известны, некоторые  не очень. В конце обзора  несколько талантливых студентов. Дизайнеров в Скандинавии много; наша выборка субъективна, и ее справедливость можно легко оспорить. Это неизбежное зло: упомянув всех достойных людей, мы увеличили бы обзор в несколько раз.
Презде чем перейти к списку, скажу несколько вводных слов. Скандинавская школа дизайна, как известно, состоялась в середине XX века. С тех пор много воды утекло, но скандинавский дизайн сохранился, и сохранился именно как школа, с особым отношением к работе, технике, материалу. Более того, сейчас он переживает своего рода расцвет, как бы вступает в серебряный век.
В значительной степени это произошло благодаря новым фабрикам  Muuto, Normann Copenhagen, HAY. Во-первых, для этих фабрик часто проектируют молодые дизайнеры, вчерашние студенты. Во-вторых, эти фирмы устраивают конкурсы (анонсируемые, кстати, и на нашем сайте), которые для многих становятся первым шагом к признанию.
Замечательны и сами юные дизайнеры. Эти ребята с третьего курса делают свой сайт. Если бы русский дизайнер с третьего курса делал свой сайт, что бы он туда повесил? Конечно же, крутые визуализации инновационных вертолетов с логотипом солидной госкорпорации на борту! Скандинавы вешают фотографии прототипов. Иногда  фотографии самих себя, как они, засучив рукава, гнут фанеру и шлифуют камень. Скандинавский дизайн  он и сейчас, как семьдесят лет назад, про ремесло.
KiBiSi  одно из лучших дизайнерских бюро в Дании. Его основатели  дизайнер Ларс Ларсен, архитектор Бьярке Ингельс (самый известный среди молодых датских архитекторов) и Йенс Мартин Скибстед, теоретик дизайна и основатель фирмы Biomega, которая выпускает «дизайнерские» велосипеды.
Ларс Ларсен, Бьярке Ингельс и Йенс Мартин Скибстед

Ларс Ларсен, Бьярке Ингельс и Йенс Мартин Скибстед

Одна из построек Бьярке ингельса в Эрестаде, новом районе Копенгагена

Одна из построек Бьярке ингельса в Эрестаде, новом районе Копенгагена

KiBiSi проектируют и мебель (в частности, очень известны их металлические стулья 2008 года для HAY), и более сложные вещи: велосипеды Biomega и Puma, наушники Aiaiai.

Велосипед Biomega Amsterdam, 2005

Велосипед Biomega Amsterdam, 2005

GamFratesi Стине Гам  по образованию архитектор, и поначалу она и работала как архитектор. В частности, ей посчастливилось поработать в Японии в мастерской легендарного Фумихико Маки. Энрико Фратези  тоже архитектор, итальянец, но работал в Орхусе, в хорошей местной архитектурной студии Arkitema. С 2006 года они работают вместе как дизайнеры мебели.

Стине Гам и Энрико Фратези. Фотограф Клаус Рандруп (Claus Randrup)

Стине Гам и Энрико Фратези. Фотограф Клаус Рандруп (Claus Randrup)

Их офис находится в Копенгагене, но сами они постоянно перемещаются между Данией и Италией. Несколько эффектных вещей, которые они спроектировали для Сasamania и Ligne Roset, были выпущены в 2012 году.

Столики Meduse. Casamania, 2009

Столики Meduse. Casamania, 2009

Form Us With Love  большая стокгольмская студия, основанная в 2005 году.

Дизайнеры Form Us With Love

Дизайнеры Form Us With Love

Они работают для шведских фабрик Mitab, ateljé Lyktan (для них, в частности, в 2012 году они сделали нашумевшую настольную лампу-переноску), для Cappellini сделали металлический торшер.

Plug Lamp. Ateljé Lyktan, 2012

Plug Lamp. Ateljé Lyktan, 2012

Для Muuto они спроектировали складывающуюся резиновую лампу.

Лампа Unfold. Muuto, 2010

Лампа Unfold. Muuto, 2010

Form Us With Love приятно удивляют вниманием к технологии производства. Они помещают в свое портфолио фотографии, на которых видно, как в предметах, которые они спроектировали, сверлят дырки, гнут фанеру и проч.

Habersdash, стокгольмский магазин для современных денди. Авторы интерьера Form Us With Love, 2012

Habersdash, стокгольмский магазин для современных денди. Авторы интерьера Form Us With Love, 2012